Planet Rugby

Magpies burst Taranaki's bubble

25th September 2010 09:53


jasn shoemark hawkes bay

Magpies try-scorer: Jason Shoemark

Hawke's Bay registered just their second win of the ITM Cup season after shocking high-flying Taranaki 32-24 in Napier on Saturday.

Taranaki scored three unanswered tries in the second half to set up a thrilling finish, but the Magpies did enough to hold on for the win in front of their home fans.

Jason Shoemark, Ryan McLeod, Hika Elliot and Zac Guildford scored tries for Hawke's Bay, while David Smith, Kane Barrett, Kurt Baker and Jayden Hayward dotted down for Taranaki.

Hawke's Bay moved up to tenth on the table, while Taranaki are fourth courtesy of their four-try bonus point.

The scorers:

For Hawke's Bay:
Tries: Shoemark, McLeod, Elliot, Guildford
Cons: Buckman 3
Pens: Buckman 2

For Taranaki:
Tries: Smith, K Barrett, Baker, Hayward
Cons: Ripia, Taylor

Hawke's Bay: 15 Zac Guildford, 14 Sinoti Sinoti, 13 Jason Shoemark (c), 12 Ryan McLeod, 11 Richard Buckman, 10 Kahn Fotuali'i, 9 Chris Eaton, 8 Mike Coman, 7 Karl Lowe, 6 Trent Boswell-Wakefield, 5 Ross Kennedy, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Jody Allen, 2 Hikawera Elliot, 1 Kas Lealamanua.
Replacements: 16 Eugene Smith, 17 Josh Keys, 18 Leighton Price, 19 Michael Johnson, 20 Daniel Kirkpatrick, 21 Gillies Kaka, 22 Mark Jackman.

Taranaki: 15 Scott Ireland, 14 Andre Taylor, 13 George Pisi, 12 Jayden Hayward, 11 David Smith, 10 Willie Ripia, 9 Brett Goodin, 8 Ben Souness, 7 Chris Walker, 6 Jarrad Hoeata, 5 Craig Clarke (c), 4 James Broadhurst, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Shane Cleaver.
Replacements: 16 Timo Tutavaha, 17 Carl Carmichael, 18 Kane Barrett, 19 Samuela Vunisa, 20 Kylem O'Donnell, 21 Beauden Barrett, 22 Kurt Baker.

Referee: Keith Brown

  • ITM Cup Fixtures
  • ITM Cup Table
ITM Cup Table
4Counties Manukau1028